2012 NSWPRL Premiers Manly Sea Eagles.

The Manly Sea Eagles copied their NRL namesakes at 6pm on Friday the 20 March 2012, when they toppled the Cronulla Sharks in the annual NSW Police Rugby League Carnival held at Port Macquarie.

Under perfect conditions for playing our great game of rugby league, the Sea Eagles under the coaching of Glenn McDougal, held a narrow lead of 4 points to 2 at the half time break, after having a generous amount of possession.  Second rower Tim Pont, the 'Crowd favourite' was spirited in attack and lead the Manly pack up front.  Cronulla led by speedy centre and captain Beaudie Cullen, mounted a spirited comeback in the second half.  Tournament best player, Cronulla hooker, Matt Johnstone, was dangerous around the ruck area and tried to mount attacking raids when the Sharks had possession.  Manly's defence held the Sharks and were deserved victors in a classy and high standard game.  

Manly attack the Cronulla line.

Cronulla halfback Shane Withers, kicks a 2 pointer right on half time.
Cronulla captain Beaudie Cullen, leads his side out for the second half battle.
 Manly and NSWPRL winger Michael Fortier flies high to catch a bomb.
Classy Manly hooker, Luke Jay  scoots out of dummy half.

Grand Final Squads for 2012

Manly Sea Eagles PRLFC


  1. Matthew Roberts
  2. Mick Fortier
  3. Ryan Spong
  4. Shaun Johnson
  5. Cameron Nye
  6. Paul Harvey
  7. Jai Jones
  8. Desai Gupwell
  9. Luke Jay
  10. Ashley Cooper
  11. Tim Pont
  12. David Cox
  13. Ben Smith ©
  14. Troy Beeton
  15. Ritsen Renshaw
  16. John Macarthy
  17. Matthew Hanlon
  18. Shannon Walmsley
  19. Chris Wilson
  20. Nathan Brown
  21. Chris Wilson
  22. Michael Grime
  23. Matthew Clarke
  24. Luke Baker
  25. James White
  26. Brendon Haile
  27. Matt Ross


Coach: Glenn McDougal

Assistant Coach: Richard Puffett

Manager: Alan Culbert

Assistant Manager: Steve Heagney

Trainer: Steve Wilson & Ian McNabe & Craig Allison

Committee: Cameron Smith

Cronulla Sharks PRLFC


  1. Liam Watson
  2. Scott Morris
  3. Beaudie Cullen ©
  4. Dane Sablowski
  5. Michael McGuirk
  6. Josh Murphy
  7. Shane Withers
  8. Ben Francis
  9. Matt Johnstone
  10. Ben Sweeney
  11. Tom Magann
  12. Ben Colman
  13. Dylan Manga ©
  14. Ryan Briggs
  15. Rob May
  16. Brett Harris
  17. Simon Cass
  18. Brett Lloyd
  19. Brad Kearns
  20. Chris Elliss
  21. Mal Cohen
  22. Chris Dove
  23. Adam Powell
  24. Russell Bateman
  25. Damien Goodfellow
  26. Nathan Surplice
  27. Anthony Knott

Coach: Craig Sheridan

Assistant Coach: Gavin Dengate

President/Trainer: Bobby O’Riordan

Treasurer: Rick Giardini

Ballboy: Jake Giardini

Secretary: Damien Goodfellow

Committee: Ron Mason

Leave a Comment