NSWPRL England Tour 1990

1990 was a significant year for the NSWPRL.  Tireless workers, President Alex Ramsey, Secretary and Treasurer, Doug Keen and Terry Cameron had worked for years to organise the first NSWPRL tour of England.  Players and supporters enjoyed the three week tour which coincided with the Australian Kangaroo tour.  The photograph below is at the traditional…


Maroubra-Waverley, Runners up 1990

The Maroubra team has been in the Police competition since 1969, but the combined with the Waverley Police District in 1983 resulting in a more competitive team.In 1990, under the coaching of Bob Frost and containing Damien Beaufils and Brad Kirkwood, stalwarts from 1983, the ‘Wombats’ as they were nick-named, needed to win the last…


1990 Premier’s Sydney District

The 1990 Police Grand Final was played between Sydney District and Maroubra-Waverley, the two most consistent performing teams in the competition – with Sydney District emerging the victors by 12-8 in an even, hard fought game in which defence was the key word. Maroubra-Waverley dominated possession. For Sydney District, both wingers,, Tony Gleeson and Jim…