1972 NSW State team.


Front row L to right are Mick Gleeson, Secretary/Manager, Bill Tout, President NSW Police Footy, Qld Police Commissioner (name unknown) and Inspector Jim Armstrong, NSW Police and Patron.
Second Row L to R, Sid Walsh, Unknown, Unknown, Kevin Roberts (Cpt.) Wade Chandler, Unknown, Unknown.
Third Row L to R, Alan Stephens, Brian Breakspear, Ron Cubic, Ken Maroney, John King
Back Row L t R, Unknown, Mick Ogg, Kevin Brown, Unknown, Dick Baker, Unknown.

The inaugural NSW Police State representative side, toured Queensland in 1974. Captained by Kevin Roberts, the team played one game which they won 9 to 8, defeating a keen Queensland Police side. In those days, a try was 3 points and goals were two points. Kevin Brown scored the only try which was converted by Alan Stephens who also kicked two penalty goals. Queensland Police gained their eight points by kicking four penalty goals.

The NSW team wore a borrowed set of '7 Division' (Redfern) jerseys. Their pride passion, enthusiasm and toughness became the ingredients of future NSW Police representative teams. @import

Leave a Comment